My Account

Electoral boundaries

Electoral boundaries define the area that each Councillor and Member of Parliament represents.

Regular reviews are held to determine polling districts and polling places, ward boundaries and Parliamentary boundaries.

Boundaries in Richmond

The London Borough of Richmond upon Thames is divided by the river Thames into two constituencies, Twickenham and Richmond Park. Richmond Park also takes in some parts of Kingston.

These constituencies are represented by two Members of Parliament elected in General Elections.

The Borough is divided into 18 wards, each represented by three local Councillors. These Councillors are elected every four years in Local Elections.

You can find out your current electoral areas and polling station in My Richmond.

Ward boundaries map

You can view the ward boundaries in the borough by using the Ordnance Survey Election Maps.

To use, zoom in to the area, select 'boundary' and then 'London Borough Wards' to populate the map.

Changes to boundaries

Any changes to electoral boundaries are made independently by the Boundary Commission for England (BCE) and the Local Government Boundary Commission.

Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places 2021

Regulations require all local authorities to review their polling districts and polling places every four years.

The Electoral Registration and Administration Act 2013 introduced a change to the timing of compulsory reviews of UK Parliamentary polling districts and polling places. Compulsory reviews must be started and completed within the period of 16 months that starts on 1 October of every fifth year after 1 October 2013.

A new public consultation for this review began on 5 July 2021.

LGBCE Ward Boundary Review 2019

Richmond upon Thames is set to have new boundaries for its council wards. These will make sure the arrangements for council elections stay fair.

Following a 2019 review, the Local Government Boundary Commission recommended Richmond upon Thames Council should be represented by 54 councillors representing 18 three-councillor wards: the same as the current arrangement. The boundaries of 15 of these wards will change to reflect changes in population since the last set of boundaries were drawn up in 1999, as well as forecast change in future. 

Based on feedback on the draft recommendations, the Commission made significant changes in the following areas:

  • Coleshill Road and Admiralty Way will remain in Teddington ward, based on responses the Commission received which argued that they had strong community links to Teddington.
  • The area north of Chertsey Road will not move to Whitton but will stay in St Margarets & North Twickenham, following persuasive submissions arguing that Councillors covering the area should also cover the footprint of the stadium and its surroundings.
  • Finally, the Commission recommends including Kingsway, Shalstone Road and Lower Richmond Road in Mortlake & Barnes Common ward, owing to the arguments for better community links with Mortlake than Richmond.

Further small changes can be found on the LGBCE website.

The recommendations will now be laid in parliament, and subject to approval will come into effect for the Richmond upon Thames Council elections in 2022.

Parliamentary Constituency Boundary Review 2023

A review is currently underway into the map of Parliamentary constituencies in England. Find out more about this Parliamentary boundary review.

View results of the previous review held in 2018


Updated: 22 September 2022

Stay up to date! Make sure you subscribe to our email updates.