Richmond.gov.uk
My Account

The Building Control Surveyors can normally be contacted before 10.30am from Monday to Friday.

The Surveyors are listed by area.

Surveyor contact details

From 10.30am to 3.30pm the Surveyors are out on site inspecting. Unless the enquiry is of an urgent nature, please telephone the landline number and leave a message on the voicemail, and the Surveyor will return your call when they return to the office.

Find your area using the map, and see the contact details for your surveyor in the table.

South area
Contact Contact details

Gary Sumpter

Building Control Team Manager (North and South)
Surveyor for Barnes

Available Monday to Friday

gary.sumpter@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8891 7767

Mobile: 07545 423629

Jerry Edwards

Surveyor for Barnes Common, East Sheen, Ham, Petersham and Mortlake

Available Wednesday, Thursday and Friday

jerry.edwards@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8891 7351

Mobile: 07930 909952

Mike Jennings 

Surveyor for Kew, North Richmond, Richmond Riverside and South Richmond

Available Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday

mike.jennings@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8891 7350

Mobile: 07957 648345

North area
Contact Contact details

Brian Cowan

Surveyor for Heathfield, North Twickenham, St Margaret’s, Twickenham Riverside, West Twickenham and Whitton

Available Monday to Friday

brian.cowan@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 88917352

Mobile: 07958 743646

Jason Orme

Surveyor for Fulwell, Hampton Wick. South Twickenham and Teddington

Available Monday to Friday

jason.orme@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8891 7767

Mobile: 07971 949356

Gareth Jones

Surveyor for Hampton, Hampton Hill and Hampton North

Available Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday

gareth.jones1@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8891 7468

Mobile: 07931 742858

Charlie Sumpter

Available Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday

charlie.sumpter@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8891 7245

Mobile: 07929 820300

Due to part time working on non-working days please send an email to the Area Surveyor and you will receive an email with details of who to contact in their absence.

Head of Building Control

Dave Batsford

Management of:

  • Building Control section
  • Safety of sports grounds
  • Dangerous structures and demolitions
  • Fire safety
  • Contaminated land
  • Land charges

Telephone: 020 8891 7346
Email: d.batsford@richmond.gov.uk

Updated: 07 March 2022

Stay up to date! Make sure you subscribe to our email updates.