Building Control officers

The Building Control Surveyors can normally be contacted before 10.30am from Monday to Friday.

The Surveyors are listed by area.

Surveyor contact details

From 10.30am to 3.30pm the Surveyors are out on site inspecting. Unless the enquiry is of an urgent nature, please telephone the landline number and leave a message on the voicemail, and the Surveyor will return your call when they return to the office.

Find your area using the map, and see the contact details for your surveyor in the table.

South area
Contact Contact details

Gary Sumpter

South Area Building Control Team Manager

Available Monday to Friday

gary.sumpter@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8891 7767

Mobile: 07545 423629

Jerry Edwards

Surveyor for East Sheen, Ham, Petersham and Richmond Riverside

Available Wednesday, Thursday and Friday

jerry.edwards@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8891 7351

Mobile: 07930 909952

Mike Jennings 

Surveyor for Kew and North Richmond

Available Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday

mike.jennings@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8891 7350

Mobile: 07957 648345

Mike Lapworth 

Surveyor for Barnes, Mortlake and South Richmond

Available Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday

mike.lapworth@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8891 7714

Mobile: 07720 063659

North area
Contact Contact details

Gary Sumpter

North Area Building Control Team Manager

Surveyor for Hampton Wick

Available Monday to Friday

gary.sumpter@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8891 7767

Mobile: 07545 423629

Brian Cowan

Surveyor for St Margaret’s, North Twickenham and Twickenham Riverside

Available Monday to Friday

brian.cowan@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 88917352

Mobile: 07958 743646

Malcolm Hill

Surveyor for South Twickenham, Fulwell, Hampton Hill and Teddington

Available Wednesday, Thursday and Friday

malcolm.hill@richmondandwandsworth,gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8891 7354

Mobile: 07931 783317

Gareth Jones

Surveyor for Hampton North and Hampton

Available Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday

gareth.jones1@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8891 7468

Mobile: 07931 742858

Eleni Rosen

Surveyor for Heathfield, Whitton and West Twickenham

Available Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday

eleni.rosen@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8891 7353

Mobile: 07931 783316

Due to part time working on non-working days please send an email to the Area Surveyor and you will receive an email with details of who to contact in their absence.

Head of Building Control

Dave Batsford

Management of:

  • Building Control section
  • Safety of sports grounds
  • Dangerous structures and demolitions
  • Fire safety
  • Contaminated land
  • Land charges

Telephone: 020 8891 7346
Email: d.batsford@richmond.gov.uk

Updated: 4 November 2019